Mooladhara ChakraMuladhara, or the Root Chakra, is located at the base of the spine. In the yoga tantra system, Mooladhara is regarded as the seat of Kundalini Shakti, the spiritual energy. This spiritual energy is said to be lying dormant in the form of a coiled serpent. When aroused it makes its way up the energy pathway called Sushumna, awakening all the chakras on its way toward Sahasrara at the crown of the head. When Kundalini reaches Sahasrara, the ultimate experience of enlightenment occurs.

The Mooladhara chakra is symbolized by a four-petalled lotus that is deep red in color. In the middle of the lotus is a yellow square–the yantra of the earth element. At the center of the square is a lingam called the ‘swayambhu linga’ which represents consciousness. A red serpent representing Kundalini Shakti is coiled three and a half times around the linga. In some depictions, the yellow square is also supported by an elephant with seven trunks, symbolizing the solidarity and stability of the earth.

Muladhara represents the center of instincts, stability of mind and body, survival and self-sufficiency. A positive balance in the Muladhara Chakra would be mental and physical health and prosperity. A balanced or clear Root Chakra is steady and grounded. The principal virtue of your First Chakra is for you to find more safety and grounding so that you can trust in the wisdom of your body with your surroundings.

If unbalanced or blocked, one can have issues with survival—both financially and domestic. Another expression is a preoccupation with the gaining and keeping of material possessions which can turn into hoarding.Trust and appropriate boundaries can also be challenged.

Properties of 1st Chakra (Muladhara)

Definition: The Sanskrit word ‘Mooladhara’ is divided into two: ‘Mool’ meaning root, ‘adhara’ meaning place. This chakra tends to all the survival needs and one’s sense of security.

Colors: Deep Red, Black & Dark Brown

Element: Earth. The earth element is about establishing physical and emotional grounding which provides inner stability and balance.

Location: Mooladhara is the lowest chakra, situated in males slightly inside the perineum, midway between the scrotum and the anus. In females, it is at the top of the cervix.

Balanced Qualities: Groundedness, stability

Imbalanced Qualities: Unsettled feelings and tendencies

Main Right: To have and to be present

Physiological association: The lower digestion (dealing with the excretory functions), the pelvis, the pelvic floor, legs and feet for strength and stability. The nerve plexus is the coccygeal plexus, the endocrines are the adrenal glands (fight or flight responses).

Sense: Smell

Organ of knowledge: The nose

Organ of action: The anus

Trigger point: Located on the floor of the perineum (the pelvic floor) at the base of the spine.

Mantra: Lam

“By meditating on Kundalini in mooladhara chakra, a man becomes lord of speech, a king among men and an adept in all kinds of learning. He becomes free from all diseases and remains ever cheerful.”  – Swami Satyananda

Crystals and stones possess specific vibrational and energetic qualities that have been used for thousands of years for their healing and spiritual effects. Healing stones are one of the most common tools used to activate, balance and cleanse specific chakra energy centers. To learn how to use healing chakra gemstones effectively you must pair the appropriate stone with the affected chakra.

The most powerful crystals and stones for the Muladhara chakra are:

Black Obsidian
Black Tourmaline
Smoky Quartz

1st Chakra Mala Beads

Wearing and using gemstone mala beads is a powerful and efficient way to use healing chakra gemstones in your yoga practice and daily life. If you have a meditation altar, placing you mala on it will also help to balance and activate the space. The following mala beads contain gemstones that will be helpful to balance and activate the first chakra.

Filter products Showing all 41 results
Price range
Sort by